Test pieces

I had a couple of unexpected days off this week and needed some sitting down things to do, so I thought I would test out some ideas I had for wet felting.  Using a resist (a piece of plastic that you felt around) allows you to make 3D items.  I have made a small purse like this before but wanted to try some other things, so I made a tea cosy and a bowl.

Before I started I had to make the resist using a template, which involved some maths!  The essential process of felting is to do with shrinkage as the fibres lock together, so as I know the shrinkage rate of my merino wool was about 35% I had to size up my templates by 35%.  For once, things ended up the size they should be…

It was actually quite hard work to felt these as they are quite big!  It took a while and I may have developed some arm muscles. It’s also lucky it was dry as this is a great craft to do outside because of all the water that comes out of the pieces.  I’m not sure I’ll be making lots of big tea cosies, but I can see quite a few bowls or small bags or purses being made.

The tea cosy Imageis not really finished, it could do with some hand stitching and embellishments to liven up the design, but I am pretty happy with it so far.

I’d love to know what people think, and you are also welcome to nominate certain people for certain types of crafted gift.

Image

 

2 Comments

Filed under Felting

2 responses to “Test pieces

  1. Tilly

    I love the shape of the bowl, can imagine lots of embellishment potential. Can’t believe the tea cosy is felt & brilliant design!

  2. Joanie

    Brilliant. Didn’t know how you would make a 3-D object, but I see now; it’s really good.

Leave a Reply

