A finished object?

Felted clutch bag DSCN0754

I have spent quite a bit of craft time recently working on this felted clutch bag.  Wet feltmaking using the resist method can be quite hard work and time consuming!  After all of the laying out of fibres there is all the fulling to be done by rolling the wet piece inside a bamboo blind and rubbing it on bubble wrap.  For a bag the fabric needs to become very firm so that it will safely hold important items.  With stopping and starting due to busyness at work and also a holiday this took a few weeks to finish.

Once it was dry (and that takes quite a while, lucky it was sunny!) I took a trip to local craft shop to pick up some things for embellishments and fastenings.  It is fastened with magnetic clasps.  I tried out some embroidery using metallic threads on a scrap piece of felt and then felt confident enough to add a starburst to the front of the bag.

I also have some chain to add to act as a strap when the person using it is dancing maybe!  I am not 100% sure that the bag is finished though.  I wonder if it looks too ordered?  And if a second, smaller, starburst might add to it?  But then again maybe less is more?  What do you think?

 

3 Comments

Filed under Felting

3 responses to “A finished object?

  1. Tilly

    Ooo! I like!

    I’m not often one to say more bling but I did wonder about a small star on the top right hand corner or some delicate detail down that side. Is it possible to do a practice on a similar colour cloth then put on the bag?

    Definitely a good dancing bag! Tx

  2. Joanie

    I agree, I think it could take a bit more bling!

Leave a Reply

