Boozy Gifts part 2 and 3

It’s late summer so there is lots of free fruit to be picked in the hedgerows, one of the benefits of living and working in the countryside!  I’ve made sloe gin in the past (despite hating gin!) which turned out well so this year I am going all out.  Well, what else to get for some of the more difficult to make for people on my Christmas list?

I haven’t manage to collect quite enough sloes yet, so the stash is in the freezer and awaiting a few more.  The other day I was able to pick some damsons after work with a friend so I thought I’d make damson gin.  The recipe comes from Pam Corbin’s River Cottage Preserves book.

Damsons Damsons and sugar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We have an elder tree in the back garden so I thought I’d have a go at making elderberry vodka.  Did you know that elderberries are a traditional cold remedy as they are high in vitamin C?  So it’s almost a health drink… The recipe is based on the same quantities as the damson gin recipe.  I stripped the berries from the stalks as apparently they can be bitter – it also enabled me to find and remove a shield bug, a caterpillar and an earwig that had got into the bowl.

Elderberry vodkaOnce all the ingredients are in all you have to do is shake it once a day for a week and then once a week for 8-10 weeks and taste it occasionally.  What a hardship…

 

2 Comments

Filed under Booze!, In the kitchen

2 responses to “Boozy Gifts part 2 and 3

  1. Deena Levene

    Mmmmmmmm! I love gin, the damson gin sounds yummy! x

  2. Joanie

    I like the idea of elderberry vodka being a health drink…….!

Leave a Reply

