All work and no play?

It seems like ages since my last post, and I was reflecting that it looks like I haven’t done much…  I’m working on a project I won’t be able to share until after Christmas, as the person who it is for is definitely reading, and would guess straight away.  I have been quite busy at work as well, though as many of you know my work often seems more like play! On Tuesday I made these willow stars with my regular adult group.  The instructions we used had diagrams, photos and written directions so all learning styles could find the best for them. I used the diagram and whilst it was tricky at first we were soon turning out lovely stars.  I felt the need to cover mine in glitter.  The wire you can see on them can be removed once they have dried out.

Image

I have also made some samples of things we are going to make next week – a simple but really cool way to use up old Christmas cards (yes, there was a stash in a cupboard, us Education Officers always plan ahead).  All you do is cut a card into even strips, punch holes in each end, join the stack together with a split pin, then bend the whole thing into a C shape and swivel the pieces out into a sphere.  The only useful tip I have is make sure the strips are at least 1.75cm wide if you are using a standard hole punch. So simple but I think it looks really sweet.

Image

And last but not least, something from the Nature Detectives newsletter I received by email today.  This might just be the BEST way to use felt beads (of which I have a few knocking about…) EVER.  Click here to download instructions, though I do think that Rosiepink‘s blog gives you much better instructions for making the bead itself. Three lined up would make a lovely brooch I think.  I am in love with this little acorn and had fun posing it with the squirrel that lives atop my work computer.
image

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “All work and no play?

  1. Joanie

    These Christmas decorations are so good, and look achievable even for me! And the acorn is brilliant!

    I wonder who your current project is for……….

Leave a Reply

