Waste not, want not

This is the penultimate make for Christmas! Some people are extremely hard to make things for.  A certain man in the family has the exact opposite sense of style from my homemade, nature loving aesthetic, and also doesn’t really drink! I had been planning to knit a plain black beanie hat, but it is not exactly a thrilling prospect so somehow it got to the back of the queue and I was without a make for him.  Then someone at work told me how they use the gin soaked sloes to make sloe gin chocolate….

So there I was yesterday cursing as I realised it is not that easy to get the stone out of a sloe, all I can say is it’s a good job I didn’t get a Christmas manicure! I ended up very sticky but got it done. I spread them in the bottoms of either silicon cake moulds, or baking tins lined with greaseproof paper.  Then I melted the chocolate in a bain-marie (I know a microwave is meant to be easier but I burn chocolate that way) and poured it slowly over the sloes.  After a couple of minutes I tapped the tins on the worktop and then put them in the fridge for 20 minutes before running a knife round the outside and turning them out.  This way they aren’t completely set so you can cut them up if needed.

Sloes ready for chocolate

Sloes ready for chocolate

Melting the chocolate

Melting the chocolate

Just then I had a brain wave – in the cupboard I had some edible gold glitter! So I grabbed a paintbrush and started applying it.

Adding the gold shimmer

Adding the gold shimmer

Gold bars

Gold bars

By 6 pm on the Sunday before Christmas I was kind of out of options for buying nice things to put them into so they just had to be wrapped in foil with some nice labels added.

Finished product!

Finished product!

The last make is going to be for my bunnies – yes Buffy and Wizz deserve a present too! I have saved all the inner tubes from the wrapping paper to make them something chewable, but photos are going to have to wait until after Christmas when I can give it to them.

Leave a comment

Filed under In the kitchen

Leave a Reply

