Starting again

If you know me, you know I am stubborn. Super stubborn.  I really do take pride in it.  So it is something of a radical departure for me to say this: I don’t like my current knitting project, and I’m going to unravel it.  I had been thinking grumpily that I need to set targets of numbers of rows to do per day to make myself do it when Mr Han asked me if I was a sewer and not a knitter any more.  That made me a bit sad because knitting is my first textile love! I replied that I just wasn’t enjoying my current project.  In his typically practical way he said “don’t make it then, make something else”.  The more I thought about it, the more I agreed.  Why waste fancy yarn and hours and hours to make something that will be (already is) full of mistakes and I will hate doing?

It’s going to be frogged (I would like to know why knitters call unravelling something is called frogging!) so I took to Ravelry to look for a new pattern and I found this:

antler

The pattern is by Emily Wessel at Tincan Knits. I am excited about making this and it looks a lot easier than the lace scarf. I am too pushed for knitting time – I need TV knitting! It does help to visualise things when they are in an almost exact same colour as the yarn I have too… Wish me luck!

5 Comments

Filed under Knitting

5 responses to “Starting again

  1. Good luck with this new project! By the way, I was curious about frogging too. It comes from what a person says when unravels something, “rip it, rip it”

  2. Joanie

    No shame in abandoning a hated project – and at least you are going to use your yarn for something pretty 🙂

  3. Thats a really lovely top! Fingers crossed you like knitting this more!

Leave a Reply

