The Great Essex Sewing Bee

I have been avidly watching The Great British Sewing Bee, even though I don’t make clothes.  The skills on show are awesome! I am still a little gutted that Chinelo didn’t win.  I can’t do a tenth of what is done on the show, but it does inspire me to sit at my machine.  My Monday days off can be proper sewing time if I can get organised, so last Monday I spent most of the day sewing (in between getting bitten by the cat and writing blog posts that is), finishing things I started ages ago, testing new ideas and bodging some stuff.

  1. I started this before Christmas! Not too thrilling but this peg bag from Emma Hardy’s Sewing in no Time matches the carrier bag holder I made my mum.

    Hattie wonders if she can get in it.

    Hattie wonders if she can get in it.

  2. Napkins! I sort of don’t know why I wanted to make these, because it’s not like I am sophisticated enough to use a napkin at every meal, but they do look nice, and I wanted to learn mitred corners.  The tutorial came from here. The fabric came from Fabric Rehab. I think they’d make good presents, maybe for a wedding or house warming?

    There's one good mitred corner at least...

    There’s one good mitred corner at least…

  3. I also bodged a case with elastic and velcro to hold an ice bag on a knee.  I wonder why I was so interested in that? Work is getting busy again so the ice pack is going to be my best friend again! It’s not really pretty but I’m not exactly intending to flaunt it.
    Glamorous!

    Glamorous!

    There was also something else that I worked on using a mixture of tutorials and making it up as I went along, so watch this space for my homemade Kindle holder!

1 Comment

Filed under Sewing

One response to “The Great Essex Sewing Bee

  1. Joanie

    Practical and pretty too, I think – I like that starry fabric. (But hope you don’t have to use it too often.)

Leave a Reply

