Finally finished a baby make!

It’s been a while. Since the last post I’ve been doggedly knitting a blanket (still not done), made some bunting which it turns out doesn’t “go” in the baby’s room since Mr Han redecorated, finished work after training my maternity cover lady, and had 2 horrible colds. Actually I still have one of the colds so this project was finished in between forays to the tissue box.

The theme for the baby’s room is “woodland” (of course it is), despite the internet describing this as a boy only theme I think it’ll be nice if it’s a girl too. Girls can play in the woods too sexists! I decided to make a cloud mobile for a bit of ceiling staring and used the templates from an old issue of Mollie Makes. This mobile is actually from the Liberty book Simple Sewing.

A couple of weekends ago my favourite local fabric shop Fabric Rehab was open on a Saturday, yay! I was at a loose end as Mr Han had gone to watch Lincoln City (I know, super exciting) so I took a trip over there. I wanted to buy everything but managed to restrict myself to mobile fabrics – and an amazing fox print, watch this space. Luckily the lovely ladies helped me choose as I am horrendous at coordinating stuff. This is the best shop, friendly staff, amazing choices and such good prices (even postage is cheap fabric addicts…).

Sewing the clouds was easy, if a bit stop start on the machine as I’m not great with so many curves. Today I finally attached all the pieces and added the raindrop beads. That was a total fiddly pain in the butt! I was using metallic embroidery thread which probably didn’t help, but it took hours! Still the result is pretty sweet, and it will look even better hanging from the ceiling. It’ll have to be well out of baby’s reach though!

DSCN1668DSCN1669

1 Comment

Filed under Home, Sewing

One response to “Finally finished a baby make!

  1. Pingback: Martha’s tiny woodland nursery | HANdmade

Leave a Reply

